Hitchhiking in Croatia: Slavonski Brod!

Monday, 28th of October, 2019.

               The first person to stop for me is a very nice and friendly guy. He tells me have hitchhiked before so that is why he always pick up people when he can. He also says been very surprised about the time I am in there. According to him, he never saw someone doing hitchhiking so early. So he is the one who shows me how close the service station is from the first spot I was hitchhiking in the day before. Something about 30 minutes driving. I truly cannot believe nobody was going there yesterday. It is a big service station and apparently a lot of people are stopping in here. I decide to spend some Euros and get something to eat. I am starving. But surprise, surprise, I am in Croatia now and here they just accept the local money, Kuna. Besides, I convert the prices of the biscuits and, Jesus Christ, so expensive.
              I carry on to hitchhike and as soon as I am putting the backpack down a van stops. I can tell the guys is Arabic and I feel a little bit concern. Although he seems trustful, my latest experiences showed me that you never know. He is going just 30 Km further but since I do not want to get stuck again, I take it. Unfortunately he does not understood my question about the highway but have not told me as well that he did not understand. Why? Just say to me that you cannot speak English and use your fucking phone or something, but do not say “Yes” when you actually have no idea of what I am talking about it. Anyway, things happen for a reason, apparently, and he drops me in another service station, also quite big but I believe with less traffic this time, maybe because is more out of Zagreb and more in the middle of nowhere. But still in the same way to Slavonski Brod.
              When Albin pass with his nice car I thought he would not stop. But then I realize he is actually making a sign with his head that meant: “Yeah, yeah, Slavonski Brod is fine, since I am going further”. So he is a very nice old man, a Civil Engineer, going to sign a contract in a city one hour ahead Slavonski Brod. I tell him about my travels and he gets very surprise. When I called A. again to tell her I am finally coming and he talks to her to decide where drop me off, he even tells her that I am a very nice and bright lady. How sweet of him! Thank you Albin for save my day and make me like a bit more of the Croatian people.
              I wait for a long time for A. I think over an hour. And this because I called her one hour before Albin drop me here. It is funny how sometimes you can totally get how it will be your whole experience with someone / at some place just from the first impressions.

Leave a comment